Leading Organizational Change

Leading Organizational Change

Each of us is an influencer of others. In fact, to live is to influence. Wherever and whenever our lives interact with others (at home, at work or in our community), we have influence. We change lives. We affect people every single day with the looks on our face, the words we say, the actions we choose, and the decisions we make. Even choices and traits of our friends and even our friends’ friends have a powerful effect on ours. The interactions we have in this world offer great opportunities. They can be either positive or negative. They can add value to the lives of others or they can take value away.

Raindrop Foundation is a non-profit educational, charitable, social and cultural organization.  This organization aims to cultivate friendship and promote understanding of diverse cultures through its unique services to the community. I am voluntarily helping to this organization for six years. I am the only one who home-schools her child in a community. I have many friends and colleagues there. Some of them want to make their child home-school as well and whenever they have chance, they ask questions about home-school.

One and half year, my daughter has benefited immensely and have gained valuable learning experiences in Homeschooling through my Blended-Learning initiative. The book, Influencer has broadened my horizon. I have learned a lot of valuable information from it. To bring change in any organization, I’ve clearly understand that giving information is not enough itself. It should be supported with other important steps. So, I want to be an important agent for change and decide to influence my friends. I aim my friends’ hearts and minds. I can influence by providing a clear logic, an explanation of the benefits them by appealing to shared values and emotional connection.

Starting in the Fall of 2016, I will organize a meeting about Blended- Home-school project, whoever is interested to participate, they will. After meeting, my first thing to do is create a home-school team and then guide them in every possible way. I will be the leader in this change effort but will find friends, they will mentor members for assistance.  I think there are three people in the organization who is against homeschooling. If I manage to gain their trust and support, they can make my plan a success since they are silver-tongued and effective people. I will ask those persons to join me in that endeavor because only the team can make the change happen.

What I want to see with this project is to have all off team members fully understand why Blended -Homeschool is so important and learn how to use technology effectively for this purpose, so that once they are ready to apply to Blended-Homeschool project, they will have all necessary skills to implement it successfully.

In this process four key strategies have helped me to identify the vital behaviors that I would like to change to achieve the desired results.

 

Notice the obvious.

Almost all the Raindrop organization members are well educated people and have teaching background. In addition, they are technologically literate people. I mean they already have the required skills for teaching their own children. I just need to guide them the procedure in terms of smooth transition to Blended -Homeschool Project.

Look for Crucial Moments

I believe my friends want to make their kids homeschool but they need somebody to model them how to implement it. Even tiny changes can take time to filter through and be adopted. I will provide all possible information in both the planning and implementation process. I will share my story and offer an opportunity for them to learn from my experiences.   I believe experiences add much more value than an opinion. I will say only if the pain is faced will the benefits be enjoyed to their fullest.

Learn from Positive Deviants

It is important for all team members to regularly collaborate with each other. They will gain proficiency by integrating weekly meeting, advice and reflections throughout the year.  Mentors will show how to use necessary digital apps and documents that will be used in Blended-Homeschool.

Spot Culture Busters

Even though homeschool idea appeals my colleagues they have some drawbacks like: “Do homeschooled kids perform as well as non-homeschooled kids? Is there a negative impact on their social skills? “First I will eliminate these concerns. I will encourage them to talk about their feelings and what they believe they will lose because of the change. I will make sure I understand their feedback and do not be afraid to adapt my plans based on new information. I will answer questions. I will stress that I have knowledge, skills, and strengths that will help move them forward.

My Goal:  Three members of the team homeschool their child and learn how to use technology effectively for this purpose, by Fall 2017.

Key Factors: Clear communication and feedback will be our key factors.

Goal Measures:  Collecting weekly data will allow me to measure member’s connection to the process.  Feedback will be provided and documents will be shared.

Vital Behaviors: I will focus on the two vital behaviors that produce the greatest amount of change.  Our first vital behavior is having a meeting every week and the second one is to utilize technology to gain comfort and proficiency.

My desired result: To have all homeschool team members will be able to learn how to plan and design their own   lessons   by May 2017. Results will be measured by tracking their participation to weekly meetings.  At the end of each semester, members will be asked to complete a survey to obtain feedback on the Blended-Homeschool Project implementation process so that they can improve their knowledge and skills.

THE SIX SOURCES OF INFLUENCE

The six sources of influence model are structured process of how to provide change and it is based on the book, Influencer: The Power to Change Anything, by Kerry Patterson, Joseph Grenny, and David Maxfield, Ron McMillan, and Al Switzler.

It can be used for anything we want to change. It is a perfect tool to gain measurable result. It is like a path that we can diagnose and implement change result.The process begins with defining a problem in a form of solution. After the solution defined with measurable results then we are supposed to make brainstorm on what the vital behaviors cause the desired results. Then analyze the sources of influence that should be put to cause change. If we implement six source of influence effectively this ensures the success of the change. As a last step, we can measure the result.

motivation

 

 

Leave a Reply

