MY LEARNING PHYLOSOPHY

MY LEARNING PHILOSOPHY

What is learning and how does it take place in the learning environment? Learning is a permanent change in our behavior as a result of experience, training, and education. This is a very broad phenomenon that has no boundaries like age, place or time. All of us is a learner in this world and this skill matures and shapes our personality over time.

In my learning philosophy, there are three inalienable elements: love, motivation, and creativity. I always try to provide an atmosphere that every student feels, precious, respected and a member of the team themselves in it. I believe that one method or approach can not fit all students, as like one size of shoes doesn’t fit everyone. Since every person is unique and special it is natural to have differences in student’s intelligence. Accordingly, their contribution can be varying in society. Some of the learners can be a musician, the other one can be the writer. That’s why I love using different types of approaches, methods, and tools to support my learner’s diverse needs.

My main goal is to draw the students’ attention to learning and generate joy and fulfillment in them. Hands –on activities is a must for me. When I look at my past, all of my knowledge comes from “doing,” rather than listening or studying. What do I mean by “doing” I mean, experiencing?   To acquire long-lasting learning, it is crucial to teach our learners how to learn. That’s why I suggest my learners to ask three questions to themselves. What is this? Why should I learn this? How can I use this knowledge in my real life? If they find responses to these three questions and internalize it, they can master the real purpose of learning. I believe to connect with all students in the classroom, is teacher’s big responsibility. I provide help for all my student; underachievers generally see success as something that is beyond their control and this makes them feel as if all their efforts are nothing. The student needs to be aware of the role of personal responsibility plays through achievement. In addition, for encouraging collaboration and interaction between students, I send the message that I care about how they are doing in the course, and that I am always open to make changes for their benefit. I ensure positive and constructive feedback and praise my learner’s efforts specifically. So rather than saying “you could have done that better,” I say “you tried your best and worked hard.  To build up serene learning environment I encourage the positive attitude.

I also care about service-learning in my learning philosophy. By incorporating service-learning into the curriculum, I offer students the opportunity to apply classroom theory to real-life situations. Students consider service-learning as a way to integrate what they have learned in the classroom with a real-world environment.

I think learning and teaching has a strong tie and interaction with each other. The teacher can support students learning by means of motivation to learn, moreover, technology usage can greatly foster the students’ capacity to learn. As a learning environment, classroom assures a variety of activities to students by means of accepting individual differences, increasing their readiness to learn, discovering new ideas, and constructing their own knowledge.

I feel like my learning philosophy positively impact my innovation plan. Since I am my daughter’s learning coach, I train her for every aspect of life. Academic success doesn’t mean everything for me. I believe it is very significant for teachers to consider physiological and social development phases as well. Because some students that considered successful throughout in their school life, after graduation, they encounter many obstacles in real life and show antisocial behavior. My role is creating a curriculum that based on her interest and assures access the correct source of information.   Eventually, she determines her motivation for learning. I put many apparatuses as could be allowed in the learning procedure.  I choose my   materials and resources that require intellectual engagement. I give ownership to my daughter in curriculum and rules so she feels valuable and works harder to accomplish her learning goals. Since she feels secure to express herself at home, she is building a sense of self-esteem and does cooperatively what is expected from her.

 

 

 

Annotated Bibliography

Thomas, D., Brown, J. S. (2011, January 4) A new culture of learning: Cultivating the imagination for a world of constant change

Learning is a remarkably social process. In truth, it occurs not as a response to teaching, but rather as a result of a social framework that fosters learning (John Sealy Brown).

In this book authors argue that old ways of teaching cannot keep up with the rapidly changing world. They differentiated two learning societies: one that is instructor driven where educators state what is important, and the other one that is learner-driven that learners figure out what is essential and realize through engagement with the resources. They pointed out how important to move learner -driven approach. Teachers create, reshape the environment and guide the learner’s exploration.  We need to re -embrace a new culture of “play “to ensure we acquire the new generation. Authors argue by offering genuine case of natural learning. There are many examples in the book who learn such a deep level. These examples in the book make a persuading and stimulating the up and coming era of students.

Thomas Brown and John Seely also emphasizing on learners learning steps, such as exploring resources, questioning and producing content. They expressed that play, imagination and integration is necessary for meaningful learning.  Thomas and Brown explain the importance of play in learning which is something we do not do enough in our learning environment. Being lifelong learner is essential and students should learn also with their peers. With new media devices peer-to-peer learning is easy and natural.   In addition, authors say we need more facilities to know, to create and to play. They also indicate that learners must not be consumer but creator of the content.

Pink, D. (2010, April 1) ROSA Animate: Drive: The surprising truth about what motivates us. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6XAPnuFjJc.

In his video, Dan Pink uses the research to explain the carrot and stick model is not effective when mental effort is blended. In this research a whole group of student from MIT university were taken and given a set of challenges such as memorizing string of digits, solving word puzzles physical tasks and etc. They gave them three levels of rewards. But when they compare the results of the cognitive skills to the mechanical skills, the people doing the mechanical work liked the carrot and stick model whereas the people who had to use too much cognitive skills didn’t like the idea. The cognitive skills worked the opposite way of mechanical skills. Dan Pink suggests solution to motivate people. Pink then describes what research has found to be successful in motivating people when mental effort is involved.

 

References

Pink, D. (2010, April 1) RSA Animate: Drive: The surprising truth about what motivates  us. Retrieved from   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6XAPnuFjJc.

Robinson.K.[TED].(2010,May 24)Sir ken robinson:bring on the learning revolutionRetrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r9LelXa3U_I

Thomas, D., Brown, J. S. (2011, January 4) A new culture of learning: Cultivating the imagination for a world of constant change

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

